Printer icon

Press Release

May 6, 2015

Kathleen Reichert
American Skin Association

American Skin Association (ASA) Honors Outstanding Researchers During Annual Meeting of the Society for Investigative Dermatology

Atlanta, GA – Earlier this evening, David A. Norris, MD, Chair of ASA's Medical Advisory Committee, presented the David Martin Carter Mentor Award and the Research Achievement Awards at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Investigative Dermatology. The award recipients were celebrated at a dinner hosted by ASA's Medical Advisory Committee in the Crystal Ballroom of the Hilton Atlanta.

ASA's David Martin Carter Mentor Award honors a member of the dermatology community who embodies the characteristics which made the late David Martin Carter, MD, PhD an inspiration to many dermatologists, investigators, colleagues and medical students throughout the world. Last year's recipient of this prestigious award was Dr. Gerald Lazarus of Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. This year the David Martin Carter Mentor Award was presented to Howard P. Baden, MD, Professor of Dermatology at Harvard Medical School and Dermatologist at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Dr. Norris said: "We were delighted to honor Dr. Howard Baden with the 2015 David Martin Carter Mentor Award. Dr. Baden, our 22nd honoree to receive this prestigious award, is a lifelong leader in investigative dermatology and a pioneer in the research of hair biology and genetic skin diseases. We honor him for his outstanding service to the field of dermatology and dedicated mentoring to a generation of future academic dermatologists and scientists."

The Research Achievement Awards were instituted in 1989 to identify established scientists in investigative dermatology and cutaneous biology. They recognize those who have greatly advanced work related to autoimmune and inflammatory skin diseases, melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer, psoriasis, public policy and medical education, and vitiligo and pigment cell disorders.

The following awards were presented this evening:

Research Achievement Award in Autoimmune and Inflammatory Skin Disorders Research to Mark C. Udey, MD, PhD of National Cancer Institute

Research Achievement Award in Melanoma and Skin Cancer Research to Alain H. Rook, MD of University of Pennsylvania

Research Achievement Award in Psoriasis Research to David J. Margolis, MD, PhD, of University of Pennsylvania

Research Achievement Award in Vitiligo and Pigment Cell Biology Research to Mayumi Ito, PhD, of New York University

Research Achievement Award in Public Policy and Medical Education to Alexa Boer Kimball, MD, MPH, of Massachusetts General Hospital

"We had an impressive group of awardees this year! Dr. Udey, Dr. Rook, Dr. Margolis, Dr. Ito and Dr. Kimball all made great strides in their respective fields. ASA is proud to herald their many achievements," said Dr. David Norris.

Howard P. Milstein, Chairman of ASA, shared his congratulations, "On behalf of the Board of Directors of American Skin Association, I would like to congratulate this evening's award recipients. Their work in the field investigative dermatology is vital in the search for a cure for melanoma, skin cancer and other skin diseases. We are honored to support these amazing researchers."


A unique collaboration of patients, families, advocates, physicians and scientists, ASA has evolved over twenty-eight years as a leading force in efforts to defeat melanoma, skin cancer and other skin diseases. Established to serve the now more than 100 million Americans – one third of the U.S. population – afflicted with skin disorders, the organization's mission remains to: advance research, champion skin health – particularly among children, and drive public awareness about skin disease. For more information, visit